The Big Newsletter Sample with Shaq

Welcome back to the The Big Newsletter with Shaq. Each issue I share a reflection or key learning from the interviews I do with the inspiring individuals doing things on their own terms.

Entrepreneur, investor, and superman (of the NFL), Cam Newton, joined me in the studio for the latest episode of The Big Podcast.

In this week’s issue: There’s Always a Camera (or at least act like it).

Thanks for reading. — Shaq

Together With Factor Meals

My favorite delivery service. Use code BIGFACTOR50 for 50% off.

There’s Always a Camera (or at least act like it)

I saw the brawl video, I’m sure you did too, so I wanted to give Cam some space to address it.

Much respect to Cam for being honest on the pod. He could have blamed the other guys or the media but instead he took responsibility like a man.

He admitted he got triggered, let his emotions get the better of him, and that the consequences could have been a lawsuit, jail time, or both. He knew he needed to be better as a role model to thousands of young athletes across the country.

The fan interaction with Kevin Durant is a good recent example of something that could have been ugly, with KD showing coolness and restraint.

I’m not saying to not demand respect. I still don’t think kids at Cam’s camps should be talking him any way they want to. If a video came out of Cam kicking a kid out in a respectful manner, I’m backing that 100%. That kid will benefit from that experience down the line.

But fighting, guns in the club, this stuff gets recorded now and there are real consequences.

It’s a good reminder for me, my sons, and everyone reading this, that everyone has a phone with the camera on these days. And if you’re famous or have influence, people are going to try to use that against you for their selfish purpose.

Make sure to watch the full interview below and let me know what you think.

Happy Birthday to Me

I mention this in the episode above when Cam asks me about my perfect game.