DWade

Fam how’s it going? Welcome back to Dwyane’s World, my official newsletter. Each edition I share highlights from my latest shows, exclusive behind the scenes info, basketball news, and more.

In this edition:

  • How I almost died playing pickup at Lakefront

  • My HOF speech to all fathers

  • The importance of health for Black men

Thanks for reading - Dwyane

All Things Wade

For the kids: Shady Baby - The perfect book to teach kids how to speak their minds and stand up for what they believe in.

For the adults: Three by Wade Pack - An introduction to Wade Cellars' most popular wines.

For the big hearts: Donate to the Social Change Fund - where we drive impact by championing equity in entrepreneurship, leadership, and innovation for Black and Brown communities.

Like Father Like Son

I just got back from China with my pops and Z, and was blessed to be able to sit down with the OG D-Wade in the recording studio to chat about memories, basketball, and health.

Speaking of health, we reminisced about the time we almost died at pickup ball 😅.

Long story short, I was playing pickup at Lakefront, got fouled, and slung the ball at the dude’s head. Not only did that guy sling it back but he reached for his gun and I’ll never forget hearing the “click-click”. Turns out he was a gang leader in Chicago. Luckily pops had a friend there that knew all of them and was able to cool things down.

Things were different back then, it feels like a totally different life. I still don’t understand how my dad raised us on $73 / week. It made me smile when pops brought up the “delicacy” in our household: toasted bread with sugar on top.

We chatted about my HOF speech and I’m surprised we made it through the recording without crying (we cried for hours after the speech). Shoutout to all the fathers that are still in their kids’ lives man. My speech wasn’t just to my father, it was to all the fathers out there and the challenges we go through.

Pops had some truth to spill when it came to Black men’s health: check your ego at the door. We can’t be scared to talk about things we’re going through because it could kill us. We let our ego get in the way of seeing a doctor, talking to other men, learning, as if those things make us weak. Ask questions.

At the end of the day, if don’t care about yourself, people aren’t gonna be taking care of you. Life’s too precious man.

To hear our takes on playoff basketball and more stories from my childhood, make sure to watch the full episode.

Watch the Full Episode Below

Make sure to check out my interview with Jay Shetty on YouTube or wherever you get your podcasts.