Point Game Podcast

What’s up! Welcome back to the official newsletter of Point Game. Each issue we share key highlights from our latest shows, exclusive behind the scenes info, basketball news, and more.

In this issue we cover:

  • The story behind Arenas’ #0

  • What if Arenas had stayed to mentor John?

Thanks for reading. — John and CJ

Together With DraftKings

Go to DraftKings and use code POINTGAME for an extra $20 on your first bet.

Why’s and What Ifs with Agent 0

Was he black or Mexican?

We only played 12 games together on the Wizards so it was dope to have Gilbert in the studio to learn more about his story.

Why #0?

Arenas grew up in San Fernando Valley in LA where “the white boy players” played ball. With no mixtapes or social media, even though he was scoring 35 a game, all the scouts thought he was a Mexican kid and didn’t pay him much attention.

When Arenas got to Arizona, his first choice was #25 but they were retiring that number for the legendary Steve Kerr.

#1 and #0 just became available to college players and Arenas, forever the underdog, chose #0 (fellow legend Jamal Crawford chose #1 at Michigan). #0 represented the number of minutes people thought he was gonna play and he made sure to use that as fuel and motivation.

Agent 0 was born.

What if he had stayed?

How deadly could we have been?

I’ve always wondered how my life and career would have been different if Arenas stayed to mentor me. Would we have won a championship? Would we have been a dangerous duo? Based on his answer, it doesn’t sound like it would have been any of those things 🤣.

Much respect for his honesty on this one.

When he reflected on what he would have been like as a mentor for me in 2010, he basically said, “I wouldn’t have been a very good one.” He wasn’t in a place mentally to teach me the ropes about work ethic or understanding what my teammates needed day to day.

I’m sure it was tough. He was the old face of the franchise and I was the new face of it. Passing the torch is always painful.

Man those 12 games were fun though. I remember we went to LA and all I did was pass him the ball. He scored 23 that night in the most ridiculous Dolce & Gabbana shoes I’d ever seen.

What are those???

Watch The Full Episode Below👇

What do y’all think, who should have fun DPOY? Hit reply and let me know.