Risk, Hawaii, Bad Kitty Qs

Welcome back to Bad Kitty Klimber, a biweekly newsletter where I share exclusive behind-the-scene details of my life, climbing tips, and upcoming events.

Together With Scarpana

Today’s edition is brought to you by my favorite climbing shoes, the Instinct VSRs by Scarpana. 

How Much Risk is Too Much?

I seem to grapple with this question every day. I’m not sure if that’s normal or not, but I suspect climbers ask this question more than other athletes (hard not to when you’re challenging your own mortality every climb).

The way I like to think about risk is to first separate it from RISKY.

Risk: Starting a business.

Risky: Putting all your money on red.

Risk: Doing the Long Peaks Triathlon.

Risky: Doing the Long Peaks Triathlon without a rigorous training process.

If I can’t use my discipline, effort, and focus in the process, then the action is too risky.

Once I separate risk from risky, I then think about the risk of action vs inaction.

Risk of X climb: Fail, get hurt, embarrassment.

Risk of not doing X climb: Boredom, stagnation, regret.

Ultimately, I know I have to fail to grow and succeed, which is why I almost always fear the risk of inaction more than action.

If you’d like to hear me speak on these topics in person, join me at the beautiful Colorado Chautauqua on March 12th. $15 tickets. Doors at 7pm, presentation at 730. Grab a ticket below!

Aloha From Hawaii

I got to climb this epic arch and enjoy the sun these last couple days as I finished up my latest campaign. Can’t wait to share more details soon!

Bad Kitty Qs 😼

The top three Q and As from my latest podcast episode featuring Tristan Chen and Sean Bailey! Be sure to listen to the full episode here.

Q1: Do you get the full send even if you grab the anchors?

A1: In no way, shape or form should people be grabbing the anchors - TChen

Q2: Does a person have to climb at a certain grade or higher for you to consider dating them?

A2: No, but I’d rather date someone that climbs than someone who doesn’t - Sean

Q3: How do you handle experienced climbers who ignore climbing etiquette, either in the gym or outside?

A3: I’m trying to be an ambassador, so I generally try to be as helpful as possible. Usually when I try to instruct them they’re pretty down - Sean