Shortstop, Dansby's QB prediction comes true, Best hair in baseball

Welcome back to the On Base Newsletter with Mookie Betts. Each issue I share key highlights from my show, exclusive behind the scenes info, baseball news, and more.

Our first episode of Season 2 is now live and it’s off to an electric start with Chicago Cubs All-Star Dansby Swanson.

Thanks for reading. — MB50

Together With 50/50 Foundation

Help us build groundbreaking sports programs at inner city schools, and to empower kids through physical, mental, financial, and nutrition education. Donate here.

Shortstop

I haven’t played shortstop since my time with the Lowell Spinners in 2012!

It’s been a dream of mine to play shortstop in The Show ever since I started playing baseball and it’s finally come true. I honestly can’t express how special this is for me.

For better or for worse, it’s THE position in baseball that everyone is watching, THE position with the most pressure, THE position with so much history in names like Derek Jeter, Honus Wagner, and ARod.

I haven’t played shortstop in 13 years so I’ve definitely had to put extra work in at practice. Huge shoutout to my manager Dave Roberts and the rest of the coaching staff for supporting me in this transition.

I thought Dansby (who’s played shortstop his whole life and eight years in The Show) was going to have a bit more insight and useful advice than “Just go catch the ball” but maybe it’s cause’ he doesn’t want me to take his All-Star spot 😅

Quick Hits

Look at that lettuce.

  1. Dansby predicted correctly that Kirk Cousins would sign with the Falcons

  2. My boy Tyler Glasnow made it to Dansby’s “Best Hair” list

  3. I like to mix up my walkout songs, but I actually have a high school musician friend who makes me a song every year, and my 16 year old cousin is getting into music and I’m getting her to make me a song too

Make sure to check out the full episode below.